Monday, March 9, 2020

Yasme Foundation Announces Grant/Award Winners

Yasme Foundation Award of Excellence Presentation at the
United Nations in early March. From left Sandro Nitei, VE7NY;
Pete Dougherty,W2IRT; ARRL Hudson Division Director Ria
Jairam, N2RJ; Joe Taylor, K1JT; James Sarté, K2QI; Adrian Ciuperca,
KO8SCA; Martti Laine, OH2BH; and Philip Dale, G6CBR.
(Photo courtesy OH2BH)

The Yasme Foundation has named its 2020 Excellence Award winners as well as grant recipients for this year. James Sarté, K2QI, and Adrian Ciuperca, KO8SCA, were honored with the Yasme Excellence Award for their work in reactivating United Nations Headquarters club station 4U1UN. The station has been off the air for several years due to renovations in the UN Secretariat building. 

A ceremony presenting the award was held March 6 at the United Nations (see photo). The ceremony was capped off by WSJT-X developer Joe Taylor, K1JT, making the first-ever FT8 contacts from 4U1UN.

In addition, the foundation awarded grants to: The Ethiopian Amateur Radio Society, ET3AA, for purchasing VHF equipment; retroactive help in covering the expenses associated with the amateur radio demonstration station at last year's World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-19) in Egypt; funding assistance with the Youth on the Air (YOTA) and HamSci displays at the upcoming Dayton Hamvention®; Contest University at Dayton, and HRS, the Croatian amateur radio association, in support of its sponsorship of the YOTA Region 1 summer camp this August. The foundation news release did not specify the amounts of the grants.