Friday, October 11, 2019

K5FLU and K9EID Among 2019 RCA Awardees

The Radio Club of America announced its 2019 awards in late September, and the recipients included several amateurs. The best-known in the ham community are MFJ founder and president Martin F. Jue, K5FLU, recipient of the Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award for unique contributions to the field of amateur radio; and Heil Sound's Bob Heil, K9EID, winner of this year's Alfred H. Grebe Award for significant achievements and demonstrated excellence in the engineering and manufacturing of radio equipment.
Other amateurs honored by the 110-year-old club, which is the world's oldest group of wireless professionals, include:
  • George R. Stoll, WA0KBT: Fred Link Award for notable achievements in land mobile radio communications;
  • David Bart, KB9YPD: Radio Club of America Service Award in recognition of dedicated service to the club;
  • Frederick M. Baumgartner, K0FMB: Lee de Forest Award for significant contributions to the advancement of radio communications;
  • Dr. Henry Richter, W6VZA: RCA Lifetime Achievement Award for significant achievements and a major body of work that has advanced the art and science of wireless technology; and
  • Chester “Barney” School, Jr. Esq., K3LA: RCA President's Award for service and dedication to the Radio Club of America.
The awards will be presented at the club's annual banquet on November 23 in New York City.