Monday, May 1, 2017

Spratly DXpedition Delayed Until March 2018

Ownership of the Spratly Islands in the South China Sea
is disputed among four countries. Hams nonetheless plan
to mount a DXpedition there. Layang Layang Island is part
of Sparrow Reef (circled) on this CIA World Factbook map.
A DXpedition to the hotly-contested Spratly Islands planned this December has been postponed until next March. 

The ARRL Letter's report did not include a reason for the delay in the planned 9M0W operation from Layang Layang Island, a part of Swallow Reef (IOTA AS-051). 

The Malaysian Navy has a presence on the reef (and Malaysia issued the license), but the Spratlys are at the center of South China Sea conflicts between Malaysia, China, Taiwan and Vietnam, all of which claim ownership.