Tuesday, June 13, 2023

Anna Gomez Nominated to FCC; Carr and Starks Renominated

FCC Nominee Anna Gomez
(NTIA photo)
President Biden has nominated telecommunications attorney Anna Gomez to fill a vacant seat on the FCC and break the long-standing 2-2 Republican / Democratic tie on the commission that has blocked significant action. 

According to RadioWorld, Gomez currently works for the State Department, leading preparations for U.S. participation in the World Radiocommunication Conference scheduled for later this year. She served previously as deputy administrator of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA – which serves many of the same functions of the FCC relating to federal government spectrum usage) and spent 12 years as an FCC staffer, rising to Deputy Chief of the International Bureau. Her nomination is subject to Senate confirmation.

Mr. Biden also nominated current FCC commissioners Brendan Carr, a Republican, and Geoffrey Starks, a Democrat, to serve additional terms. Carr has been a commissioner since 2017; Starks since 2019. The five-member FCC is structured to have at least two members from each major political party, with the fifth position filled by a member of the President's party.