Thursday, May 14, 2020

Geoff Howard, W0CG/PJ2DX; Bill Myers, K1GQ, and Gene Zimmerman, W3ZZ (SK) Inducted into CQ Contest Hall of Fame

(Hicksville, NY – May 14, 2020) – CQ magazine today announced the induction of three new members to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, which honors those contesters who not only excel in personal performance but who also "give back" to the hobby in outstanding ways. CQ Contesting Editor David Siddall, K3ZJ, conducted a virtual induction ceremony at the conclusion of the daylong 2020 Contest University webinar.

The 2020 inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:
Geoff Howard, W0CG/PJ2DX (Photo courtesy W0CG)

Geoffrey Howard, W0CG/PJ2DX, purchased and restored the PJ9JT contest station in 2000 that had been owned by CQ Contest Hall of Famer John Thompson, W1BIH/PJ9JT.  The location was named “Signal Point” and the PJ2T callsign pays homage to PJ9JT.  Geoff established the Caribbean Contest Consortium to help manage and maintain the station, and has consistently made the station available to guest operators over the years, including serving as host station several times for young operators participating in the Dave Kalter Youth DX Adventure program. He has also worked closely with VERONA, Curacao's national ham radio society. Geoff served for more than 25 years in the United States Air Force, retiring as a colonel; worked for RCA and the Federal Aviation Administration, and taught in the Graduate School of Management at Kent State University in Ohio.

Bill Myers, K1GQ
(Courtesy K1GQ)
Willard "Bill" Myers, K1GQ, is a pioneer of computer-based systems for designing and switching antennas at contest stations, designed the Cushcraft "Skywalker" series of monoband Yagis, helped build the early PacketCluster network and served as mentor to several of today's most prominent contesters, including K1AR, K1DG, K1JX, and others. Bill was also a major behind-the-scenes force at the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) competition in Massachusetts, and is currently providing support and refinement of the SkookumLogger contest logging program for Apple computers.

Gene Zimmerman, W3ZZ, in 1998 (CQ file photo)

Gene Zimmerman, W3ZZ (SK), was a major force in VHF contesting as well as an accomplished HF contester. He was a member of both ARRL's and CQ's contest committees at various times between 1972 and 2012, was QST magazine's VHF Editor for nearly a decade, and was CQ Contest magazine's VHF columnist as well. Gene took over the struggling CQ World Wide VHF Contest in 1999, reinvented it as a 6- and 2-meter only event and sparked its growth into a truly worldwide competition. He was also instrumental in organizing the mid-Atlantic VHF contesting group that became known as the K8GP Grid Pirates.

Registered participants in the virtual Contest University webinar were able to view the induction ceremony live. It was also "simulcast" on DX Engineering's YouTube link, where it is also stored for later viewing. The recording of the ceremony may be accessed at <>.

The CQ Contest Hall of Fame was established in 1986 to recognize those amateurs who have made major contributions to the art of radio contesting. This is the 37th annual induction and the first to be conducted online.