Wednesday, March 13, 2019

2019 Hamvention Award Winners Announced

The Dayton Amateur Radio Association has announced the winners of the 2019 Hamvention® Awards, considered among the most prestigious recognitions in amateur radio.
Nathaniel Frissell, W2NAF, Dayton's 2019 Amateur of the Year
(Photo courtesy W2NAF)

This year's Amateur of the Year is HamSCI founder and coordinator Nathaniel Frissell, W2NAF. HamSCI – Ham Radio Science Citizen Investigation – is a program designed to build long-term relationships between amateur radio operators, acting as citizen scientists, and professional researchers in the fields of propagation and space science. The hams can provide hundreds or thousands of data collection points while the scientists can use that data to learn more about phenomena related to radio wave propagation. Frissell also organized the 2017 Solar Eclipse QSO Party.

Dayton's Technical Achievement award this year goes to telegraph key designer and manufacturer Piero Begali, I2RTF. The Special
Technical Achiemevent
Award Winner Piero Begali,
I2RTF (I2RTF photo)
Special Achievement Award
winner Chris Janssen,
(DL1MGB photo)
Achievement award will recognize the efforts of Chris Janssen, DL1MGB/KO2WW, for his work as president of the 2018 World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC2018) in Germany. And the 2019 Club of the Year is New Hampshire's Nashua Area Radio Society, a club of more than 200 members with a prime focus on mentoring and youth outreach to bring more people into amateur radio and help them get on the air.

The Nashua Area Radio Society is this year's Dayton
Hamvention Club of the Year (NARS photo)
The awards will be presented at a special banquet during this year's Dayton Hamvention on May 18.