Tuesday, November 6, 2018

YASME Foundation, RCA, Announce Awards

The YASME Foundation has voted to make "a significant grant" to support upgrading amateur radio equipment and systems aboard the International Space Station and announced its annual Excellence Awards. According to the ARRL, award recipients include Brian Machesney, K1LI, Michelle Guenard and Fred Kleber, K9VV, for their work in maintaining ham radio communication networks on Dominica and the U.S. Virgin Islands; and Zorro Miyzawa, JH1AJT, for his efforts to promote amateur radio in developing countries.
The Radio Club of America announced that it will award its 2018 Armstrong Medal to contester and DXer Ted Rappaport, N9NB, and that the organization's Lee de Forest Award this year will go to inventor Nathan "Chip" Cohen, W1YW. Three other hams were among the recipients of additional RCA awards. All were scheduled to be presented at the club's annual awards banquet and technical symposium in New York City on November 17.