Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Hamvention® Award Winners Announced

The Dayton Amateur Radio Association has named the winners of its prestigious Hamvention® awards for 2011. Shirley Roberts, N8LX, of Dayton, was named Amateur of the Year (see our profile of Shirley in the May issue of CQ); Roy Lewallen, W7EL, will receive the Technical Excellence Award for his development of EZNEC antenna modeling software; the Special Achievement Award goes to Fred Lloyd, AA7BQ, founder of, and the Albemarle Amateur Radio Club of Charlottesville, Virginia, was named Club of the Year. The awards will be formally presented at the Dayton Hamvention® in May.