Thursday, December 16, 2021

Milestones: RCA Awards and Silent Keys


RCA Youth Achiever
Award winner Audrey
McElroy, KM4BUN
(CQ archive photo)
The Radio Club of America presented its annual awards at a virtual meeting in November, with the Youth Achiever Award going to Audrey McElroy, KM4BUN (pictured). Other award recipients who might be familiar to CQ readers include Robert Hobday, N2EVG, Director of the Antique Wireless Museum in upstate New York, and Dale Hatfield, ex-W0IFO, former Chief of the FCC's Office of Engineering and Technology.

One of the major contributors to the WSJT-X Development Group - Bill Somerville, G4WJS - became a Silent Key in early December. The ARRL Letter reports that Somerville was the first person to join group founder Joe Taylor, K1JT, in forming a core development group for the WSJT suite of programs in 2013.

In addition, two former ARRL staff members joined the ranks of Silent Keys in recent weeks...

Former QST Technical Editor and author Joel Hallas, W1ZR, became a Silent Key in late November. According to the ARRL Letter, Hallas had been a ham since 1955. He retired from full-time work at the League in 2013 but remained on the QST staff as a contributing editor, writing "The Doctor is In" column and producing a podcast by the same name. Hallas also wrote six ARRL books, covering a .variety of topics. He was 79.

Former ARRL Chief Development Officer Mary Hobart, K1MMH, became a Silent Key in December at age 78. She was responsible for the creation of The Diamond Club, The Diamond Terrace, The Maxim Society, and the Second Century Campaign, among other initiatives. According to the ARRL, she also served as secretary of the ARRL Foundation, and during Hurricane Katrina, organized the Ham Aid program that provides new gear to amateurs who have lost their equipment in disasters.