Wednesday, January 16, 2019

FCC Back to Full Strength (But Closed at Press Time)

The Federal Communications Commission once again has five members, with the Senate confirmation
Brendan Carr was confirmed by
the Senate to a full term as an
FCC Commissioner, along with
Geoffrey Starks (FCC photo)
of Brendan Carr for a full five-year term (he'd been filling a vacated seat since 2017) and of Geoffrey Starks, who is replacing former Commissioner Mignon Clyburn. They join Chairman Ajit Pai and fellow Commissioners Michael O'Rielly and Jessica Rosenworcel.

Starks moves up from a staff position as Assistant Chief of the Enforcement Bureau. The Senate also confirmed Kelvin Droegemeier as director of the White House office of Science and Technology Policy. (Tnx K3ZJ)

At press time in mid-January, the FCC remained essentially closed due to the partial shutdown of the federal government.