Monday, November 27, 2017

YASME Foundation Announces 2017 Awards

The YASME Foundation in November announced the presentation of five Excellence Awards and one supporting grant for 2017. The awards recognize significant contributions to amateur radio.

According to the ARRL Letter, the five Excellence Awards go to:

   - the Dayton Amateur Radio Association for its smooth transition of the Hamvention® to a newhome on short notice;
   - Paul Verhage, KD4STH, and Bill Brown, WB8ELK, for their ongoing leadership of amateur radio high-altitude ballooning programs, and through them, introducing hundreds of students to amateur radio;  
- Nathaniel Frissell, W2NAF, and Magda Moses, KM4EGE, for establishing the Ham Radio Science Citizen Investigation (HamSCI) program and sponsoring the Solar Eclipse QSO Party, which YASME says was the largest amateur radio experiment ever conducted;
  - the WSJT Development Team, led by Joe Taylor, K1JT, for their ongoing advancements in digital communications; and
  - Dale Hughes, VK1DSH, for his work representing the interests of amateur radio at the 2015 World Radiocommunication Conference, where 60 meters was designated as an amateur radio band worldwide.
 - In addition, Gary Pearce, KN4AQ, received a supporting grant to help cover his expenses in producing and distributing videos through his Ham Radio Now podcast.