Friday, September 1, 2017

Several Hams Among RCA Honorees

The Radio Club of America (RCA) issues a series of awards each year for contributions to the radio art. Several amateurs are among this year's honorees, including: Ulrich Rohde, N1UL, Lifetime Achievement Award; James Breakall, WA3FET, Sarnoff Citation, for his antenna designs, including the OWA, or optimized wideband antenna; Peter Madsen, K2PM, Fred M. Link Award for achievement in land mobile communications; Michael Kalter, W8CI, Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award for his longtime work with the Dayton Hamvention®; Robert Hobday, N2EVG, for long-term contributions to radio broadcasting; and Charles Kirmuss, W0CBK, for his contributions to the RCA Youth Activities Program.
In addition, the following hams were named RCA Fellows: David Bart, KB9YPD; Nathan "Chip" Cohen, W1YW; Brent Finster, K6BEF; James Roden, W5JR, and Bruce Roloson, W2BDR.