Thursday, August 23, 2012

RAC Ontario Section Split in Four

The Radio Amateurs of Canada has split its Ontario Section into four new sections, effective September 1. They are: Ontario North (ONN), Ontario East (ONE), Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and Ontario South (ONS). The ARRL Letter reports that the change was made for administrative purposes. The new regions will change the total number of possible sections for ARRL contests that use ARRL/RAC sections as multipliers (Sweepstakes and the ARRL 160-Meter Contest) or as part of the exchange (SS, 160 and Field Day). A "clean sweep" in the November Sweepstakes will now require 83 multipliers.