Monday, September 11, 2017

Hurricane Watch Net Update 1000 UTC Sept. 11

 The following is provided by our friends at the Hurricane Watch Net. Irma was downgraded to a tropical storm at 8:00 AM EDT (1200 UTC), but remains a very dangerous storm as it continues to move northward through Florida and into Alabama, Georgia and South Carolina. Over 3 million people remain without power and that number may grow as the storm moves inland. Plus, Hurricane Jose continues to be a threat in the Caribbean and possibly even to south Florida.

National Hurricane Center/NOAA map
(Update: Monday, September 11, 2017 @ 6:00 AM EDT (1000 UTC)

Irma continues to weaken now that landfall has occurred. The hurricane is forecast to weaken to a Tropical Storm later this morning. (CQ - That change of designation occurred at 8:00 AM EDT/1200 UTC)

Considering the path of destruction caused by Irma, many areas, especially the islands, are just now beginning to get HF communications somewhat restored.

In addition to collecting post-storm damage reports, we will be calling and listening for stations who have been affected by Irma with Emergency and Priority Traffic.

We already know there is a huge need to for Health & Welfare and Emergency & Priority Traffic. Considering the areas hardest hit – an Andrew-like disaster spread across many islands as well as south Florida – nets like ours could be busy for days.

Please, don’t drop your guard on Hurricane José. Over the next few days, this storm is expected to make a loop and perhaps affect the Turks and Caicos Islands, Bahamas, Cuba, and south Florida by the weekend. Of course, a lot can change in 36 hours, so, let’s pray the storm heads out to sea and not cause any harm to anyone!

The Hurricane Watch Net remains operational on 7.268.00 MHz (LSB). We will suspended nighttime operations at 7:30 AM EDT – 1130 UTC. Daytime operations will resume on 14.325.00 MHz (USB) at 7:00 AM EDT - 1100 UTC.

We will remain operational on 14.325.00 MHz (USB) until 7:00 PM EDT – 2300 UTC. We will make an announcement regarding our plans for net operations later today.
To help those with Health and Welfare questions, we have a growing list of Health & Welfare Nets, Telephone Number, and more, found on our website homepage: We will add to this list as we get more information.

I wish to sincerely thank the daily users of these 14.325.00 MHz and 7.268.00 MHz to allow us to serve our fellow man in a serious time of need.

Please, continue to keep those affected by Irma in your thoughts and prayers!

Bobby Graves - KB5HAV
Hurricane Watch Net
Net Manager