Monday, June 5, 2017

Milestones: Hams Honored for Various Activities

Case Western Reserve University has honored Professor David Kazdan, AD8Y, with the Wittke Teaching award for excellence in undergraduate teaching for his Seminar Approach to General Education and Scholarship (SAGES) course, Shrinking the World.
David Kazdan, AD8Y
(Case Western Reserve University news release)

According to the ARRL Letter, the goal of the wide-ranging course is to build students' "understanding (of) human culture and behavior, scientific knowledge, and methods of research." All students in the course must also earn an amateur radio license and operate the school's club station, W8EDU.

Mark Abramowicz, NT3V, a correspondent for "Amateur Radio Newsline" and a professional broadcast journalist in Philadelphia, has received National Eagle Scout Association's "Outstanding Eagle Scout Award." According to Newsline, Abramowicz earned his Eagle rank in Boy Scouts in 1973, and has remained active in scouting throughout his adult life. Mark is also chairman of the selection committee for the Bill Pasternak Memorial Young Ham of the Year Award, of which CQ is a co-sponsor.

Michael Foale, KB5UAC, and Ellen Ochoa, ex-KB5TZZ,
at their induction into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame
(NASA photo)
Johnson Space Center Director Ellen Ochoa, formerly KB5TZZ, and former astronaut Mike Foale, KB5UAC, were both inducted into the United States Astronaut Hall of Fame in May. Ochoa was the first Hispanic woman to fly in space, and Foale is the only American astronaut to have flown on both the Russian Mir space station and the International Space Station. While on the ISS, according to the ARRL Letter, Foale set up the Amateur Radio on the International Space Station Phase 2 station in the Russian service module.