Monday, May 23, 2022

Dave Pascoe, KM3T, and Craig Thompson, K9CT, Inducted into CQ Contest Hall of Fame; Seven New Members Added to CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

CQ magazine has announced the induction of two new members to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, which honors those contesters who not only excel in personal performance but who also "give back" to the hobby in outstanding ways. CQ World Wide DX Contest Director and former CQ Contesting Editor John Dorr, K1AR, presented Hall of Fame plaques at an induction ceremony held at the annual Dayton contest dinner on May 21.

The 2022 inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:

2022 CQ Contest Hall of Fame
inductees Craig Thompson, K9CT
(L) and Dave Pascoe, KM3T (R).
(Photo by Tom Roscoe, K8CX)
David Pascoe, KM3T, a highly-accomplished multi-op and single-op contester with many championships and record scores to his credit, and he is also responsible for much of the "back office" infrastructure behind the administration of many major contests. He is the infrastruc-ture and IT security "departments" for all of the contests supported by the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation (WWROF), including all CQ contests, several ARRL contests and others. He also maintains the e-mail lists on the system, including CQ-Contest, 3830 and more. He is also a pioneer in live contest audio streaming, and is a volunteer pilot for two organizations that provide free medical-related air travel.

Craig Thompson, K9CT, a world-class contester and promoter of youth in contesting. He developed the North American Collegiate Championship (NACC) program, in which college amateur radio clubs compete against each other in the context of the larger competition of the North American QSO Party. Craig also worked closely with Tim Duffy, K3LR, to develop a version of the Contest University (CTU) program specifically designed to integrate with each year's W9DXCC Convention. He is also involved in several amateur radio organizations, serving as treasurer of CWops, a board member of the Northern California DX Foundation (NCDXF), past president of the Society of Midwest Contesters and is currently chairman of the ARRL Contest Advisory Committee.

The CQ Contest Hall of Fame was established in 1986 to recognize those amateurs who have made major contributions to the art of radio contesting. This is the 39th annual induction.

CQ DX Hall of Fame 

There were no inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame for 2022, as the judging committee determined that none of the nominees met the high standard required for selection.

CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to amateur radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to amateur radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of life on our planet. The 2022 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

Franklin P. Antonio, N6NKF (SK), co-founder of Qualcomm, whose chips underlie much of our modern technology. Antonio was particularly involved in the company's satellite work and was a philanthropist as well, donating $30 million to the University of California at San Diego as seed money for a new engineering building.

Wolf Harranth, OE1WHC/OE3WHC (SK), journalist and broadcaster on Radio Austria International; founder of Austria's radio documentary archive (DokuFunk), now the world's largest archive on the history of radio, including the YASME/Colvin collection; literary translator and 2017 recipient of the IARU Region 1 Roy Stevens memorial award for his work on DokuFunk.

Les Kramer, WA3SGZ, inventor of lower-limb prosthetic devices used by some 3000 people worldwide, including two survivors of the Boston Marathon bombing; as well as multiple other inventions in the fields of electric power generation, IED detection, optical coatings for industrial processes and more.

Roy Lewallan, W7EL, author of EZNEC antenna modeling software that has become the standard platform for designing and modifying amateur radio antennas.

Peter Marks, AB3XC, physician and FDA scientist behind "Operation Warp Speed." Dr. Marks leads the team at FDA that reviewed and approved all of the available vaccines for COVID-19 as well as all intravenous therapeutics such as Convalescent Plasma, Monoclonal antibodies and diagnostic testing.

Bob Ringwald, K6YBV (SK), well-known blind jazz musician in Sacramento; co-founder of the Sacramento Jazz Festival; known locally as "the emperor of jazz" and, last but not least, father of actress and singer Molly Ringwald.

R. Scott Wright, K0MD, physician and leader of Mayo Clinic team developing the use of convalescent plasma as one of the first treatments for Covid-19; DXer, contester, former editor of the National Contest Journal.