Sunday, August 2, 2015

CQ's K5ZD Among ARRL Award Winners

CQWW DX Contest
Director Randy Thompson,
K5ZD (N6TV photo)
CQ World Wide DX Contest Director Randy Thompson has been honored by the ARRL for his work in promoting amateur radio to the public, particularly in connection with his role as chairman of last year's World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC-14), which was held in Massachusetts and received nationwide news coverage. He was named this year's winner of the Philip J. McGan Silver Antenna Award for volunteer public relations work.
Also honored, according to the ARRL Letter, were Anna Veal, W0ANT, with the Hiram Percy Maxim Award; David Hershberger, W9GR, with the Doug DeMaw Technical Excellence Award for his work in reducing audio distortion on single sideband transmissions, and the Microwave Development Award went to the developers of Broadband-Hamnet for their contributions to microwave mesh networking.